“Paan Singh Tomar” wins National Award 2012 for Best Film

By NewsDesk • Published on March 18, 2013

Paan-Singh-Tomar-MoviePaan Singh Tomar (Hindi) directed by Tigmanshu Dhulia was declared the Best Film at the 60th National Film Awards announced today at a joint Press Conference addressed by the Chairpersons of the three juries; Basu Chatterjee for Feature Films, Aruna Raje for Non-Feature Films and Swapan Mullick for Best Writing on Cinema.

In non-feature film category, the award for the Best Film went to Shepherds of Paradise (Gojri & Urdu) produced and directed by Raja Shabir Khan. In the category of Best Writing on Cinema section, the book ‘Silent Cinema in India – A Pictorial Journey’ (English) written by B.D. Garga has bagged the top honour, whereas P.S. Radhakrishnan has been conferred the award for the Best film Critic.

Chittagong (Hindi) and 101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam) have shared the Indira Gandhi award for the Best Debut Film of a Director. The award for the Best Popular Film for providing wholesome entertainment has been shared by Vicky Donor (Hindi) and Ustad Hotel (Malayalam). The award for the Best Director has been conferred on Shivaji Lotan Patil for the film Dhag (Marathi). The award for the Best Actor has been shared by Irrfan Khan playing the title role in Paan Singh Tomar and Vikram Gokhale for the film Anumati(Marathi). The award for the Best Actress has been conferred on Usha Jadhav for her performance in Dhag (Marathi).


BEST FEATURE FILM: Paan Singh Tomar (Hindi) by Tigmanshu Dhulia

INDIRA GANDHI AWARD FOR BEST DEBUT FILM OF A DIRECTOR: Chittagong (Hindi) by Bedabrata Pain & 101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam) by Siddhartha Siva

BEST POPULAR FILM PROVIDING WHOLESOME ENTERTAINMENT: Vicky Donor (Hindi) by Shoojit Sircar & Ustad Hotel (Malayalam) by Anwar Rasheed


(Malayalam) by BabuThiruvalla

BEST FILM ON SOCIAL ISSUES: Spirit (Malayalam) by Renjith


BEST CHILDREN’S FILM: Dekh Indian Circus (Hindi) by Mangesh Hadawale

BEST ANIMATION FILM: Delhi Safari (Hindi) by Nikhil Advani

BEST DIRECTION: Dhag(Marathi) by Shivaji Lotan Patil

BEST ACTOR: Irrfan Khan for Paan Singh Tomar (Hindi) & Vikram  Gokhale for Anumati (Marathi)

BEST ACTRESS: Usha Jadhav for Dhag(Marathi)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Annu Kapoor for Vicky Donor (Hindi)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Dolly Ahluwalia for Vicky Donor (Hindi) & Kalpana for Thanichallanjan (Malayalam)

BEST CHILD ARTIST: Virendra  Pratap for Dekh Indian Circus (Hindi) & Minon for 101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam)

BEST MALE PLAYBACK SINGER: Shankar Mahadevan for the song Bolo Na, Chittagong (Hindi)

BEST FEMALE PLAYBACK SINGER: Aarti Anklekar Tikekar for the song Palakein Naa Moondon, Samhita (Marathi)

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY: Sudheer Palsane for KO : YAD (Mising)


i)  Screenplay Writer (Original) : Sujoy Ghosh for Kahani(Hindi)

ii)  Screenplay Writer (Adapted) : Bhavesh Mandalia & Umesh Shukla for OMG Oh My God (Hindi)

iii)  Dialogues : Anjali Menon for Ustaad Hotel (Malayalam)


i)    Location Sound Recordist: Radhakrishnan S. for Annayum Rasoolum (Malayalam)

ii)   Sound Designer: Anirban Sengupta & Dipankar Chaki for Shabdo (Bengali)

iii)   Re-recordist of the final mixed track: Alok De, Sinoy Joseph & Shreejesh Nair for Gangs of Wasseypur (Hindi)

BEST EDITING: Namrata Rao for Kahaani (Hindi)

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN: Boontawee ‘Thor’ Taweepasas & Lalgudi N. Ilayaraja for Vishwaroopam(Tamil)

BEST COSTUME DESIGNER: Poornima Ramaswamy for Paradesi(Tamil)

BEST MAKE-UP ARTIST: Raja for Vazakkuenn 18/9 (Tamil)


Songs: Shailender Barve for Samhita(Marathi)

Background Score: BijiBal for Kaliyachan (Malayalam)

BEST LYRICS: Prasoon Joshi for song  Bolo Na, Chittagong (Hindi)

SPECIAL JURY AWARD: Rituparno Ghosh for Chitrangada (Bengali) & Nawazuddin Siddiqui for Kahaani, Gangs of Wasseypur, Dekh Indian Circus and Talaash (all Hindi)

BEST SPECIAL EFFECTS: Makuta VFX for Eega(Telugu)

BEST CHOREOGRAPHY: Pandit Birju Maharaj for Vishwaroopam (Tamil)

BEST ASSAMESE FILM: Baandhon by Jahnu Baruah

BEST BENGALI FILM: Shabdo by Kaushik Ganguly

BEST GUJARATI FILM: The Good Road by Gyan Arora

BEST HINDI FILM: Filmistan by Nitin Kakkar

BEST KANNADA FILM: Bharath Stores by P. Sheshadri

BEST MALAYALAM FILM: Celluloid by Kamal

BEST MANIPURI FILM: Leipaklei by Aribam Syam Sharma

BEST MARATHI FILM: Investment by Ratnakar Matkari

BEST PUNJABI FILM: Nabar by Rajeev Sharma

BEST TAMIL FILM: Vazakkuenn 18/9 by Balaji Sakthivel

BEST TELUGU FILM: Eega by S.S. Rajamouli

BEST URDU  FILM: Harud by Aamir Bashir

BEST ENGLISH FILM: Lessons in Forgetting by Unni Vijayan

BEST MISING  FILM: KO : YAD by Manju Borah


Lal for Ozhimuri (Malayalam)

H.G. Dattatreya for Bharat Stores (Kannada)

Bishnu Kharghoria for Baandhon (Assamese)

Parineeti Chopra for Ishaqzade (Hindi)

Tannishtha Chatterjee for Dekh Indian Circus (Hindi)

Hansraj Jagtap for  Dhag(Marathi)

Thilakan for Ustad Hotel (Malayalam)


BEST NON FEATURE FILM: Shepherds of Paradise (Gojri& Urdu) by Raja Shabir Khan

BEST DEBUT FILM OF A DIRECTOR: Eka Gachha Eka Manisa Eka Samudra (Odia) by Lipika Singh Darai

BEST ANTHROPOLOGICAL/ ETHNOGRAPHIC FILM: Char …..The No-Man’s Island (Bengali) bu Sourav Sarangi

BEST BIOGRAPHICAL/ HISTORICAL RECONSTRUCTION: Celluloid Man (English, Hindi, Kannada & Bengali) by Shivendra Singh Dungarpur

BEST ARTS /CULTURAL FILM: Modikhanyachya Don Goshti (Marathi) by Gouri Patwardhan

BEST PROMOTIONAL FILM: Dreaming TajMahal (Hindi & Urdu) by Nirmal Chander

BEST ENVIRONMENT FILM INCLUDING AGRICULTURE: Timbaktu (English) by Rintu Thomas & Sushmit Ghosh

BEST FILM ON SOCIAL ISSUES:  Behind The Mist (Malayalam) by Babu Kambrath

BEST EXPLORATION/ ADVENTURE FILM: Manipuri Pony (English & Manipuri) by Aribam Syam Sharma

BEST INVESTIGATIVE FILM: Inshallah Kashmir (English) by Ashvin Kumar


I Am Micro (English) by ShumonaGoel & Shai Heredia

Cancer Katha (English) by Vasudha Joshi

BEST SHORT FICTION: Kaatal (Marathi) by Vikrant Pawar

BEST FILM ON FAMILY VALUES: After Glow (English and Gujarati) by Kaushal Oza

BEST DIRECTION:  Kaatal (Marathi) by Vikrant Pawar

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY: Abhimanyu Dange for Kaatal (Marathi) & Shabir Khan for Shepherds of Paradise (Gojri& Urdu)

BEST AUDIOGRAPHY: Harikumar M. for Do Din KaMela (Kutchi)

BEST EDITING: Irene Dhar Malik for Celluloid Man

BEST NARRATION/ VOICE OVER: Moni Bordoloi for Suranjana Deepali (Assamese)


Pinch of Skin (English & Hindi) by Priya Goswami

Allah Is Great (English, Hindi & Danish) by Andrea Iannetta

Raah (Animation) by Sanjay Jangid

BEST BOOK ON CINEMA: Silent Cinema in India-A Pictorial Journey by B D Garga

BEST FILM CRITIC: P S Radhakrishnan

Special Mention: Piyush Roy

Tagged with: , ,

Did you like reading this article?

Get DearCinema in your Inbox

Or grab the RSS feed!

Editor's Pick

Sulemani  Keeda: a cleverly-crafted Indie comedy
The title of Sulemani Keeda, a tale of two struggling young screenwriters  in Mumbai, is ...
Wong Kar Wai to be feted at IFFI Goa, Makhmalbaf’s The President opening film
Celebrated Hong Kong director Wong Kar Wai will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement ...
Do you have a script ready? Here are the opportunities
Gone are the days when writers had to knock at producers’ and directors’ doors to ask ...
After Lucia, Pawan Kumar to raise 3 Cr for his next through crowdfunding
After the success of Lucia, Kannada filmmaker Pawan Kumar is crowdfunding his next film ...

Join the discussion

Comments are closed.