Barfi, Gangs of Wasseypur winners at Filmfare Awards 2013

By NewsDesk • Published on January 21, 2013

barfi!Offbeat Bollywood films of 2012 like Barfi!, Kahaani, Gangs of Wasseypur and Paan Singh Tomar hogged the limelight at Filmfare Awards 2013 winning multiple awards.  Barfi! bagged six, Kahaani and Gangs of Wasseypur won four each and Paan Singh Tomar went home with two awards.

Barfi! won the Best Film (Popular) award, Ranbir Kapoor won the Best Actor (Popular) for his work in the film, Ileana D’Cruz was awarded the Best Debut (Female) trophy, Pritam won the Best Background Score Award and Rajat Podar won the Best Production Design Award and the film was also presented with the Sony Trend-setter of the Year 2013 award.

Vidya Balan won the Best Actress (Popular) award for Kahaani, her third filmfare award. Kahaani also won Sujoy Ghosh the Best Director (Popular) Award. Sanjay Maurya and Allwin Rego won the Best Sound Design Award and Namrata Rao bagged the Best Editing Award.

Gangs of Wasseypur hogged the limelight here too with Best Film (Critics) Award, Best Actor Female (Critics) for Richa Chadda, Best Dialogue Award to Anurag Kashyap, Akhilesh Jaiswal, Sachin K Ladia and Zeishan Qadri and the Best Action Award  for Sham Kaushal.

Irrfan Khan won the Best Actor Male (Critics) award for his role in Paan Singh Tomar, while Sanjay Chouhan and Tigmanshu Dhulia won the Best Screenplay Award for the film.

The Filmfare Award are voted for by the public and a selected panel of critics, these are categorized into ‘Popular’ and ‘Critics’ awards.

Filmfare Award winners full list:

Best Actor (Popular): Ranbir Kapoor (Barfi)

Best Actress (Popular): Vidya Balan (Kahaani)

Best Film (Popular): Barfi!

Best Director (Popular): Sujoy Ghosh (Kahaani)

Best Debut Director: Gauri Shinde (English Vinglish)

Best Debut (Male): Ayushmann Khurana (Vicky Donor)

Best Debut (Female): Ileana D’Cruz (Barfi)

Best Film (Critics): Gangs Of Wasseypur

Best Actor Male (Critics): Irrfan Khan (Paan Singh Tomar)

Best Actor Female (Critics): Richa Chadda for Gangs of Wasseypur

Best Screenplay: Sanjay Chouhan and Tigmanshu Dhulia (Paan Singh Tomar)

Best Dialogue: Anurag Kashyap, Akhilesh Jaiswal, Sachin K Ladia and Zeishan Qadri for Gangs of Wasseypur

Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award: Yash Chopra

Best Story – Juhi Chaturvedi (Vicky Donor)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Annu Kapoor (Vicky Donor)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Anushka Sharma (Jab Tak Hai Jaan)

Best Music Director: Pritam (Barfi)

Best Playback Singer (Male): Ayushmann Khurrana (Paani Da Rang from Vicky Donor)

Best Playback Singer (Female): Shalmali Kholgade (Pareshaan from Ishaqzaade)

Best Lyrics: Gulzar (Challa from Jab Tak Hai Jaan)

Best Choreography: Bosco Caesar (Aunty Ji from Ek Main Aur Ekk Tu)

Best Background Score: Pritam (Barfi)

Best Sound Design: Sanjay Maurya & Allwin Rego (Kahaani)

Best Costume: Manoshi Nath and Rushi Sharma (Shanghai)

Best Production Design: Rajat Podar (Barfi)

Best Editing: Namrata Rao (Kahaani)

Best Action: Sham Kaushal (Gangs Of Wasseypur)

RD Burman Award 2013: Neeti Mohanv – Jiya Re (Jab Tak Hain Jaan)

Sony Trend-setter Of The Year 2013: Barfi


Tagged with: , , , ,

Did you like reading this article?

Get DearCinema in your Inbox

Or grab the RSS feed!

Editor's Pick

Ashim Ahluwalia debunks 12 rules of filmmaking
The maverick director of John and Jane and Miss Lovely shared his insight on ...
DearCinema brings out funding and markets guide for indie filmmakers
DearCinema has brought out a handbook for Indian independent filmmakers who are looking ...
Aditya Vikram Sengupta wins Best Debut Director award at Venice Days
Aditya Vikram SenGupta was named the Best director of a debut film for Bengali film ...
Chaitanya Tamhane talks about”Court” that won two awards in Venice
Mumbai-based filmmaker Chaitanya Tamhane’s debut feature film Court recently had a ...

Join the discussion

Comments are closed.