Dadasaheb Phalke award for all! One for Soumitra Chatterjee, Another for Ali Zafar!!

By Bikas Mishra • Published on May 5, 2012

Ali Zafar to receive Dadasaheb Phalke academy awards on May 3”, goes a headline from the Economic Times website. Hindustan Times reported, ““Ali Zafar to receive Dadasaheb Phalke academy awards”.

Interestingly, media also reported that Ali Zafar was being awarded the 143rd Dadasaheb Phalke Academy Award.

Soumitra Chatterjee

Soumitra Chatterjee, if he ever read these reports, would have had his share of laughter. Chatterjee happens to be the 43rd recipient of the official Dadasaheb Phalke awards, the highest in the field of cinema, given every year since 1969 by the government of India.

So May 3rd, 2012 witnessed two Dadasaheb Award ceremonies in this country. One in New Delhi, where the 43rd Dadasaheb Phalke Award was conferred upon the legendary actor Soumitra Chatterjee by the Vice President of India.

Ali Zafar

Another was held in a “sub urban five star hotel”, as reported by the Times of India, attended by Bollywood glitterati. Funnily, our mainstream media covered both ceremonies with equal vigour. In its coverage, Times of India also noted that “While the actor (Ali Zafar) was being clicked by photographers, a stranger grabbed his award and ran (away). His manager was later seen looking for the man who stole the award.”

Dadasaheb Phalke Award was instituted in 1969 and legendary actor Devika Rani Choudhury Roerich was its first recipient. Its forty three awardees till date include Satyajit Ray, Mrimal Sen, Shayam Benegal, Tapan Sinha, Lata Mangeshkar, Dilip Kumar. (Full List)

And who gives out Dadasaheb Phalke Academy Awards?

This is the description from their website:

“DADASAHEB PHALKE ACADEMY, an All India Body of 38 Cine Associations, is engaged in the service of Father of Indian Cinema, organizing PHALKE JAYANTI while honouring about 55 Seniors, Labour to Legend and others, since the year 2000.”

Who are the people behind it? (Description reproduced from their website http://www.dadasahebphalkeacademy.org.in)


Shri Santosh Singh Jain

Shri Santosh Singh Jain is President of Central Circuit Association and Ex-President of Film Federation of India.


Shri Ram Gopal Gupta

Film Producer

Shri Ram Gopal Gupta is a senior Film Producer-introduced Shri. Subhash Ghai as Hero in the Patriotic Film “Bharat Ke Shaheed”- also the person who conceived & introduced the concept of ‘Phalke Jayanti Celebration’ to Film Industry through Western India Film Producers’ Association.

Shri Sangram Shirke

Hon’ble President of WIFPA

Shri Sangram Shirke is Hon’ble President of Western India Film Producers’ Association.

Mrs Neena Jalan


Mrs Neena Jalan is the Mrs. of Late Shri Tolaram Jalan, the Filmmaker & Studio Owner of Filmistan.

Shri. Govind Swarup

Ex-Cultural Sec- Govt. of Maharashtra

Shri. Govind Swarup is Ex-Cultural Secretary- Govt. of Maharashtra.

Shri. Sanjay Patel

Owner Fuji Film Lab

Shri. Sanjay Patel is a leading Film Lab Owner Fuji Film Lab & M.D.-Chairman of Patel India Distributors  Pvt. Ltd. Mumbai

Shri. Mithun Chakraborthy

Film Star

The whole world knows about this great Film Star “Mithun Chakraborty”.

Shri. Johny Lever

Actor – Trustee of DSPA

John Prakasa Rao Janumala, famously known as Johnny Lever (Hindi: ???? ????; born 7 January 1950, in Ossalapalle, Prakasam District, Andhra Pradesh), is an Indian film actor and comedian. He was born to Prakash Rao Janumala and Karunamma Janumala and brought up in Mumbai. He began his career in 1984, and has acted in over 350 Bollywood films since. He has received 13 Filmfare Awards nominations in Best Comedian Category, and has won the award twice.

Shri Pahalaj Nihalani

Film Producer

Shri Pahalaj Nihalani is a renowned Film Producer & Ex-President of Association of Motion Picture & Television Pogramme Producer.

So what is Dadasaheb Phalke Academy Award? A spurious award ceremony or Bollywood’s boycott of the official Dadasaheb Phalke Awards?

Or is it sheer coincidence? The title of the award, the date of the ceremony?

Tagged with: , ,

Did you like reading this article?

Get DearCinema in your Inbox

Or grab the RSS feed!

Editor's Pick

Ashim Ahluwalia debunks 12 rules of filmmaking
The maverick director of John and Jane and Miss Lovely shared his insight on ...
DearCinema brings out funding and markets guide for indie filmmakers
DearCinema has brought out a handbook for Indian independent filmmakers who are looking ...
Aditya Vikram Sengupta wins Best Debut Director award at Venice Days
Aditya Vikram SenGupta was named the Best director of a debut film for Bengali film ...
Chaitanya Tamhane talks about”Court” that won two awards in Venice
Mumbai-based filmmaker Chaitanya Tamhane’s debut feature film Court recently had a ...

Join the discussion

Comments are closed.