Features & Opinion

Bhupen Hazarika, Mira Nair among Padma awardees

By NewsDesk • Published on January 26, 2012

The highest civilian awards of India—The Padma awards 2012 were announced on Wednesday. Bhupen Hazarika has been posthumously awarded the Padma Vibhushan for Vocal Music.

Padma Bhushan has been conferred on actress Shabana Azmi, director Mira Nair and actor Dharmendra. Filmmaker Priyadarshan has been bestowed the Padma Shri award 2012.

Shabana Azmi, a well-known Indian actress has won the National Award for Best Actress five times in her career for Ankur (1975), Arth (1983), Khandahar (1984), Paar (1985) and Godmother (1989).

Mira Nair is a noted filmmaker who has made films like Salaam Bombay! (1988),  Monsoon Wedding (2001) and The Namesake (2006).

Dharmendra is a popular Indian actor who has acted in over 270 Hindi films in his career some of which include Sholay (1975), Phool aur Patthar (1967), Mera Gaon Mera Desh (1972) and Yaadon ki Baarat (1974).

Priyadarshan in an Indian director, producer screenwriter who has directed over 80 films in several Indian languages including Kanchivaram (2008), Hera Pheri (2000), Virasat (1997) and Hungama (2003).

Tagged with: , , , , ,

Did you like reading this article?

Get DearCinema in your Inbox

Or grab the RSS feed!

Editor's Pick

Uncertainty over Mumbai Film Festival, supporters take to social media
Uncertainty looms large over 16th Mumbai Film Festival that is scheduled to take place ...
Why touts thrive in censor board office
An Independent filmmaker's first hand account of getting a censor certificate in ...
Why short filmmakers need to be more professional in their approach
Short-films are the blind spot for the contemporary tribe of film commentators, ...
Why Cinelicious Pics acquired Gangs of Wasseypur for North America
Dennis Bartok, who set up Cinelicious Pics with film restoration expert Paul Korver in ...

Join the discussion

One Response to “Bhupen Hazarika, Mira Nair among Padma awardees”


    I do not like the idea of a Padma Bhushan awarded to Mira Nair. This is not to slight her contribution to cinema in any way but to point out that she is not an Indian citizen and these awards are specifically aimed to honour Indian citizens or that is what we have been given to understand for many years.

Leave a Reply