Features & Opinion

65th Locarno Film Festival announces Juries

By NewsDesk • Published on June 28, 2012

The official juries for the 65th Festival del film Locarno have been appointed. The jury for the International Competition will include the American screenwriter, producer and director Roger Avary (Quentin Tarantino’s Pulp Fiction, 1994; The Laws of Attraction, 2002), Seoul filmmaker Sang-soo Im (A Good Lawyer’s Wife, 2003; The Housemaid, 2010), French director, screenwriter and actress Noémie Lvovsky (La vie ne me fait pas peur, Silver Leopard “Youth Cinema” at Locarno in 1999; Camille redouble, 2012; Benoît Jacquot’s Farewell, My Queen, 2012) and London-based Swiss curator and writer Hans Ulrich Obrist, co-director of the Serpentine Gallery in London since 2006.

The jury president will be Thai filmmaker, screenwriter and producer Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Palme d’or at Cannes in 2010 for Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall his Past Lives). Around twenty feature films will screen in competition.

The president of the jury for the ‘Filmmakers of the Present’ Competition will be the director from Chad Mahamat-Saleh Haroun (Saison sèche, 2006; Un homme qui crie, 2010), the Portuguese actress Ana Moreira (Teresa Villaverde’s Transe, 2006; Miguel Gomes’ Tabu, 2012), American director Alex Ross Perry (Impolex, 2009; The Color Wheel ), Swiss producer at ARTE Luciano Rigolini (Jennifer Dworkin’s Love And Diane, Golden Leopard of the Video Competition in 2002; Naomi Kawase’s Tarachime, Apichatpong Weerasethakul’s Mekong Hotel, 2012), and Malaysian filmmaker Yuhang Ho (At the End of Daybreak, in competition at Locarno in 2009Open Verdict, 2011).

The  ‘Leopards of Tomorrow’ section, for short films by filmmakers who have not yet made feature films, will have as its president British screenwriter and director Mark Peploe (Michelangelo Antonioni’s Profession: Reporter, 1975; Bernardo Bertolucci’s The Last Emperor, 1987). The other jury members are French director Laurent Achard (Le dernier des fous, Leopard for Best Director in 2006; Dernière séance, in competition at Locarno in 2011), the Swiss actor and filmmaker Robin Harsch (Lionel Baier’s Another Man, in competition at Locarno in 2008; La touche, 2008), Swiss director and programmer Isabelle Mayor (La Ménagerie de Betty, 2009; 100% Yssam, Puppy Love, 2011), and Brazilian director Kleber Mendonça Filho (Green Vinyl, 2004; Eletrodoméstica, 2005; Neighbouring Sounds, 2012), and together they will choose the winners of the national and international competition.

Finally, the film critics Dennis Lim (The New York TimesMoving Image SourceArtforum, USA) and Boris Nelepo (Séance, Russia) alongside film programmer Abi Sakamoto (Japan) will select the Best First Film from eligible films shown in the International Competition and Filmmakers of the Present section.

The 65th edition of the Festival del film Locarno will take place 1-11 August, 2012.

Tagged with:

Did you like reading this article?

Get DearCinema in your Inbox

Or grab the RSS feed!

Editor's Pick

Titli mirrors my own journey: Kanu Behl
Debutant director Kanu Behl talks about his film “Titli” which will screen in Un ...
Kanu Behl’s Titli flies to Cannes
Kanu Behl’s debut feature Titli has been selected for Un Certain Regard section of the ...
No National award for The Lunchbox?
Ritesh Batra’s “The Lunchbox” is conspicuous by its absence in the list of 31 films ...
Independent films swept the 61st National Film awards in all the major categories. Anand ...

Join the discussion

Comments are closed.